This morningat the historic King Edward Hotel, Margaret Atwood, on behalf of the 2020 RBC Taylor Prize jury, presented their selections for the five finalist titles
     The finalist titles for the 2020 RBC Taylor Prize are:
Bush Runner: The Adventures of Pierre-Esprit Radisson by Mark Bourrie, published by Biblioasis
Had it Coming: What’s Fair in the Age of #MeToo by Robyn Doolittle, published by Allen Lane
Highway of Tears: A True Story of Racism, Indifference and the Pursuit of Justice for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls by Jessica McDiarmid, published by Doubleday Canada
The Reality Bubble: Blind Spots, Hidden Truths, and the Dangerous Illusions that Shape Our World by Ziya Tong, published by Allen Lane
The Mosquito: A Human History of our Deadliest Predator by Timothy C. Winegard, published by Allen Lane
     Noreen Taylor, founder of the Prize and chair of the Charles Taylor Foundation, spoke at the event and made these comments: “Bravo to our jurors! I am so proud of this, our final shortlist. Charles would be thrilled at the range covered by these books — the hard-hitting, research-heavy investigations of fascinating subjects and the humane treatments of topics that are and will be of keen interest to all Canadians. This is the sort of writing he admired.”
     Public events already confirmed for the finalists include a free 90-minute Round Table Discussion with the shortlisted authors in the Lakeside Terrace at Harbourfront, hosted by Toronto Star Books Editor, Deborah Dundas, on Thursday February 27, 2020 at 7pm presented by the Toronto International Festival of Authors; and the Ben McNally Authors Brunch on Sunday March 1st, at the Omni King Edward Hotel in downtown Toronto (for tickets, please contact Ben McNally Books at 416 361-0032 or visit
     The RBC Taylor Prize winner will be revealed at a gala luncheon at the King Edward Hotel on Monday March 2nd, 2020. Each of the shortlisted writers will receive $5000, and the winner a further $25,000.
     Sharing a commitment to emerging Canadian talent, The Charles Taylor Foundation and RBC will also grant the sixth annual RBC Taylor Prize Emerging Writers Award. Shortly after the announcement of the 2019 Prize, its winner will name their choice of emerging author to receive this $10,000 award.
     Continuing that commitment to emerging Canadian talent, we will again present the RBC Taylor Prize Emergent Author Mentorship Program, of nationally selected non-fiction writers from several of the many prestigious writing programs in Canada. The five selected Emergent writers will be paired with a shortlisted author and will travel to Toronto for professional development and mentorship.